My Company
Make your own free website on

home The Acorn Stories: West Texas Fiction

company logo
  The Acorn Stories: West Texas Fiction In the West Texas town of Acorn, the sky is always falling! Written by Duane Simolke, author of New Readings of Winesburg, Ohio. http://DuaneSimolke.Com  
  Company Headquarters:

The Acorn Stories

About my paperback book The Acorn Stories.

You can order it from or
most bookstores. Retailers can order it from Ingram Books; the ISBN is 0595288642. Please urge your
favorite bookstore to carry it! Details about the stories follow.

"Acorn": When we arrive at the fictional West Texas town of Acorn, the narrative keeps shifting between Regina and Dirk, who both seek control over their relationship.

"Flip, Turn": A different scene from the narrator's amusing but
unproductive life comes to him every time he turns to swim in the opposite direction.

"Keeping A Secret": A little boy wants to shield his mother and his little brother from a dangerous situation.

"Survival": A young teacher (both deaf and gay) clashes with his school's emphasis of uniformity over diversity and sports over academics.

"Paying The Rent": In this politically incorrect tale,
an inarticulate young man hopes to marry a rich woman so he can pay the
rent, but he finds her repulsive.

"Morgana Le Fay": A widow finds
her new romance disrupted by her Siamese cat's strange behavior.

"Your Daughter": Gretchen's approach to raising a daughter and
maintaining a marriage requires ignoring problems and carefully
orchestrating conversations.

"Knock": A father sees his daughter
abandon her Mexican heritage, and he now fears other types of abandonment.

"Come With Me": The conflictive influence of her overbearing sister and her supportive husband forces Becky to
re-evaluate her ambitions.

"Dead Enough": Farcical look at English
departments, tabloid TV, the publishing industry, and America's superstar culture.

"Mae": Standing by her husband's grave, an elderly woman looks back at the joys and challenges of marriage and

"Timothy Fast": In this satirical retelling of the Faustian myth, a Jewish businessman finds himself pulled into small-town politics.

"Mirrors: A Blackmail Letter": The owner of an art gallery becomes the target of a "family values" witch-hunt, spear-headed by Acorn's closeted (“ex-gay”) mayor.

"Echoes": A time of unexpected changes for Becky and her husband.

"Oak": Julie Briggs can only
talk to her mother by leaving messages on her answering machine, but she
refuses to give up her voice.

"Acorn Pie": An unusual weekend in the life of an unusual town.

Get thousands of visitors to your site for FREE!